Poor me: from posh to pauper

Poor: adj. characterized by poverty, lacking an adequate supply, exciting pity

Posh: adj. typical of or intended for the upper classes

Pauper: n. a person with little or no money, a person destitute of means except such as are derived from charity

I shouldn’t feel sorry for myself. And really, I don’t because I have so so much for which to be grateful.

BUT.

In the space of a few months my situation has gone from middle class comfortable to precarious. If I didn’t know that there are millions of others like me out there, I’d be totally freaked out. With each plunge of the markets (stock and housing) I watch my life savings flutter away into the skies like the autumn leaves I just raked on Re-wind.

I always knew that some day I’d need to move into smaller digs. At times, when the yard work or home upkeep seems overwhelming, I actually look forward to living in a tiny place.  But like so many, I envisioned that time to be years in the future.

Now it appears that time is upon me.

The question is: how do I get from where I am today – in this comfy house full of family treasures (including my mother’s baby grand piano and antique dining table, boxes of photos, framed art) – to the small digs I can afford?

It’s one thing to downsize when you can get a decent price for the stuff you must jettison in the process.  It’s something else when you have to unload valuable things at a big loss (like my house – my biggest investment!).  In another five or ten years my kids might live in large or permanent enough spaces to take these precious family heirlooms, but the stuff can’t wait.  That hurts.

All the kids will be here for Christmas, so maybe they’ll have some good ideas about my down-sizing plan. Or maybe I’ll just have Santa bring me a sugar daddy.

4 Comments

Filed under Downsizing, Selling stuff

4 responses to “Poor me: from posh to pauper

  1. Susan

    I think you have to keep the piano: even if it takes up an entire room of new house, if you play it ( do you?) If not being played, then find it a new home where it will be used, and just retain visitation rights.
    I’ve discovered one great benefit to being one of the lower middle class/ working poor. If you don’t have much, but do have a fairly secure job, the swings and variances in the stock market are not as much of a worry. I have a very small house and a very small car. Both are paid for. Not much in savings, but owe nothing to no one. I know this means I will be working until the day I die, even if social security should still be there when I do reach retirement age. But my family doesn’t do well with retirement anyways.
    I hope the children do have some good ideas for you. The sugar daddy plan sounds a little risky. You know too much sugar is bad for your health.

  2. That must be truly awful for you – a real worry.

    During the 90’s recession we went from very comfortable to almost homeless.

    I coped by imagining that our experiences were written in a book, that we’d soon be on to the next chapter where we’d have worked through the nightmare and life would continue. Which we have and it does. Another triumph over adversity.

    Maybe you’ll meet the love of your life living in the condo next to yours.

    Blog about it.

  3. I figure I can use the piano as a desk (belly up to it on a stool) and roll out my sleeping bag underneath.

    Yeah, I’ll be writing about it… as a feng shui consultant I’ll have to swig out of my own medicine bottle. However, Other People’s Clutter (OPC) is CRAP. My clutter is special.

  4. I understand about your clutter being special. It’s heart breaking.

    Sold an awful lot of mine, but fifteen years on it’s ‘just stuff’ and no I longer mind it being gone.

    Maybe some kind friends will store some of it in their lofts until things pick up again. Or compromise by moving to an area that would buy you more space for your money.

Leave a Reply

