Plenitude: its dark underbelly

Plenitude: abundance, copiousness; the condition of being full, complete. From Latin: plenus = full.

Whenever you’re feeling cranky, mingy and stingy, like you just don’t have ENOUGH (enough whatever – money, love, time), the pop psychology wisdom is to open your heart to the gifts you already have and to feel gratitude for the bounty in your life.

And I do that. I feel grateful for the abundance in my life most of the time.
I am satisfied and want not.

However.  Plenitude is not necessarily all it’s cracked up to be.

I’ve got TOO MUCH of a good thing. Too much of MANY good things. Too big a house. Too big a (beautiful) garden. Too many books. Too many interests. Too many commitments.  My life is plenus to the max.

Though you can never have too many friends.

A feng shui colleague of mine suggests that if you want something new in your life (new career, partner, social circle, home) you have to go beyond ordinary clutter clearing. You have to create a VACUUM. Only when there’s a nice big hole will something rush in to fill it.

Here’s the experiment: after I jettison half my stuff and find a place half as big as my current home, what other opportunities will appear?

And if I’d complete my divorce and stop being friends with my ex, will a new romance appear?

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Downsizing, Practical feng shui, Spiritual lessons

Leave a Reply

