Let go of the little things

Sometimes letting go of the smallest things opens big doors.

joyThis is embarrassing. I just tossed two bottles of perfume that have sat on my bureau or bathroom counter for decades.

I haven’t worn perfume in decades.

The bottle of Joy has been with me since the boat trip I took across the Atlantic (Quebec to Le Havre) right after college. A dashing member of the German crew gave it to me as a momento of our brief but torrid shipboard romance. (My name is Joy and that was a very popular and expensive fragrance at the time).

As you might imagine, the fragrance in the bottles bore no resemblance to what the perfumiers originally bottled.  So why did I not discard them years ago???

Well – they were gifts with special memories attached. They were small. What harm is something that takes so little space? And you never know… I just might want to wear a dab some time….

This morning the veil fell from my eyes. I emptied the bottles down the sink and put the empties into the recycle bin.

It felt like a major victory.

Woo-woo postscript from yoga class later in the morning. Our teacher has two little baskets from which we can draw random words on which to focus in class – one contains round river rocks and the other contains cards (with words in English and Sanskrit). You can use the words as areas on which to focus your intention for the class.

From the middle of the pile in each basket I drew (not peeking) a rock that said “Joy” and a card that said “Joy.”   Then the dharma talk at the beginning of class centered on vairagya, learning to let go of attachments.  Oh yeah.

Attachments R Us.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby steps, Downsizing, Family issues, Spiritual lessons

One response to “Let go of the little things

  1. Gretchen

    I actually have a bottle of the real stuff – Joy perfume that was my mother’s (she died 2 years ago) which she had for many, many years. I will never wear it. Arghhh. Can I really throw such expensive stuff down the drain. Help.

Leave a Reply

