Perspective: it could be worse…

boat-anchorSpeaking of boat anchors…

A friend read my post about the humongous desk I’m still trying to sell and commiserated over the stunning rate at which the value of material possessions declines.  Here’s her sad story:

I bought a Split Cal King Adjustable Tempurpedic bed four years ago for over $6600 because I was having a LOT of back issues and didn’t want to wake Jim when I got up and down in the middle of the night. Hated it from the get-go but the company would not take it back because the very expensive bases were special ordered. This despite my having a witness who was with me when I bought it and heard the guy say we could return it.

Last month I took pix, put it on Craig’s list, got a couple of nibbles, but more questions than I cared to deal with. The bottom line was either have Macy’s take it away when they delivered the new mattress we just bought or give it away.

I gave it to my cleaning lady who split it, one for each child’s room.

I’m my own cleaning lady, so that donation strategy won’t work, but I’m going to give selling it another go this weekend on Craigslist. Wish me luck.  It’s beginning to feel like a boat anchor – a symbol of all that holds me down.

3 Comments

Filed under Downsizing, Emotional issues, Furniture, Selling stuff

3 responses to “Perspective: it could be worse…

  1. Pingback: Perspective: it could be worse! « 365 Words Beginning with P

  2. Splodge!

    The desk has obviously been well-loved. Even if we lived in the same country, I’d have to buy a bigger house to accommodate it. Pity.

    • Perhaps a little too well loved (or at least well used. I never really loved it.) But then, nobody has even called to come see it up close, where the dings are visible.

Leave a Reply

