Baby steps…

chandelier1

I’ve had this antique ceiling fixture in my garage for 15 years, waiting to find the someone who wanted it enough to pay for it. It’s survived a couple of yard sales and a stay at a consignment shop without a taker. It graced my older home in Berkeley for 30 years so I didn’t want to just junk it.

This week I posted it on Craigslist for $60 and four people called about it – and last night the first caller came by with his wife (and the $60).  They were a darling young couple who were renovating their little Victorian cottage and they fell in love with the fixture despite its broken petal (which I had disclosed).  Rejuvenation Hardware had told me they could probably sell it for about $250, but so what.  I preferred seeing how happy these folks were and imagining the light shining on their home.

It’s ust $60, but it’s another baby step in getting rid of excess stuff.

1 Comment

Filed under Art & antiques, Baby steps, Downsizing, Selling stuff, Uncategorized

One response to “Baby steps…

  1. June

    Hope they’ll treasure it and that they’re not just very good at giving you a story to exploit you. I’m so cynical!

Leave a Reply

