I’m jealous.

Wy-amtrak1

My25-year-old son mooched off his kindly old mum from October thru May, stashing away heaps of money from his job – like so many autumn leaves in  giant trash bags.

And then poof! He took off for Wylie’s Excellent Global Adventure – to travel in distant lands till his money runs out, or I yank on the invisible apron string I tied to his ankle the night before he left (whilst he slept).

To make his money last, his plan is to work for room and board wherever possible. Right now he’s helping a Swedish family renovate their old farmhouse through the WWOOF program (worldwide opportunities  on organic farms).  He’s strong, smart, and a hard worker (when motivated… i.e. not working for his mother).

Suddenly I’m thinking, hey! Instead of downsizing, why don’t I just sell/store everything and get the hell out of town myself. Way out of town. Far away. I would be an aged oddity at a WWOOF placement, but I sure have done my share of garden work and have the experience.  (Not quite the stamina or strength though…).

I know if I really put my mind to it, I could do it. But first I gotta figure out how to sell this place for a decent price. Oh that.

2 Comments

Filed under 101 Reasons to Downsize, Downsizing, Envisioning a simpler life, Family issues

2 responses to “I’m jealous.

  1. Mary Sohlstrom

    Before you make up your mind whether to sell, pack it all in storage and go for wwoof take the time to read “The Third Chapter” by Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, sociologist, Professor of Education at Harvard. The Third Chapter? That time between age 50 & 75 when one looks around and says to oneself “Is that all there is?” and takes off on a new and marvelous venture . . . or not.
    Good luck!
    Mary

  2. Thanks for the book suggestion Mary. I’ve put it on reserve at the library, though it may be awhile as there are 6 folks ahead of me….

Leave a Reply

