Youth employment opportunity!

Young helpers

Young helpers

As I prepare my house for selling, there is altogether too much that needs doing which I don’t have time to do.

And let’s be honest, I also don’t want to FIND the time to do these tasks, because who wants to demoss the roof, wash windows, or pressure wash the sidewalks? Not me.

There are scads of companies out there (see Angie’s List, Craigslist, or the Yellow Pages) who do these tasks for a healthy fee. But I’d rather pay an eager unemployed young person with the unsullied energy that accumulates during the long jobless days of summer.

So I found one of Obama’s campaign former campaign organizers who is currently helping out in the local mayoral race part time, but still needs to eat.  It just so happens his parents have a pressure washer and a hedge trimmer, so the equipment is covered. I’ve got the window washing supplies, the rake, and the lawn mower.

For $12 an hour miracles are happening around here and Eric and I are both happy campers. My grandsons idolize him and want to help too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby steps, Getting organized, Resources

Leave a Reply

