Open House Deadline = week of insanity

Hearing my pitiful whimpers as OH-Day (Open House Day) rapidly approached, on Friday the Rescue Angels (my dear kids Heather and Ethan) flew in from the Bay Area – Ethan just for the weekend, and Heather for the whole week.

This is why we have children. Yup.

Heather brought my 5 & 8 year-old grandsons as well, who added to the amusement but weren’t exactly worker bees. At home they have no TV, no VCR. So whenever they got too bored with watching us slave away we shoved a Star Wars movie into the slot.

Mesmerized

Mesmerized

Elliott's not so sure about this...

Elliott's not so sure about this...

First we did the gross stuff. Gross as in big. Hauling boxes of photo albums, books, notebooks, excess cookware, etc to the storeroom, bagging excess bed linens and clothing for Goodwill, and moving out the bookshelves and cupboards thus emptied.

That left the dirt.
It revealed the cobwebs.
And it left lots of piles of random shit… in what box will that go so I won’t lose it forever???

Heather never stopped. When she wasn’t folding linens or scrubbing out the frig, she was keeping the crew fed with fabulous food. A mix of what I had in the garden, and what needed to be eaten down in the cupboards.

We eat well

We eat well

The more orderly the place got, the more we could see imperfections that had been camouflaged for years.
And yet, miraculously, minutes before the first realtor showed up we finished, and the place looked FABULOUS.

See for yourself here: the virtual tour put together by my realtor. It looks like it’s always been this calm and lovely.

And in a way, it always has been…just hidden by all the STUFF.
.

2 Comments

Filed under Family issues, Inspiration & encouragement

2 responses to “Open House Deadline = week of insanity

  1. Susan

    The virtual tour is lovely. Your realtor did a good job.
    What really impresses me though is that your grandchildren have no TV and no VCR. I gave up TV 4-5 years ago, and find the longer I’m away, the less I miss it.
    But I really wish that I could watch Star Wars again for the very first time. Did the children enjoy it?

  2. Hi Susan!
    I feel like I’ve been away for years! Yes, the kids loved the movie(s).

    My daughter said she re-watched the original movie recently and it wasn’t nearly as good as she remembered…

Leave a Reply

