The case of the McGuire furniture

There is a time and a buyer for everything: witness the McGuire furniture saga.

You may remember my humongo McGuire desk, the logjam in my early efforts to downsize during the summer. It took up an acre of physical space but was way too valuable just to chuck. Or so I thought.

I listed it several times on Craigslist, each time significantly reducing the price. Not one nibble until I PAID two boys to move it down to the garage for me and listed it for free. Then a couple from the coast drove 2 hours each way to fetch it.

Meanwhile, I’d kept the leather, cane and wicker McGuire desk chair that went with it, because… well, because.

Last minute I realized that of the THREE desk chairs I had, it was my least favorite. It had to go.

I listed the chair on Craigslist for $60. Very quickly a woman called from Seattle to say “Hold it for me. I’ll be there in three hours.” She gave me the $60 without a moment’s haggle.

Then she asked about The Desk.

Turns out she loves McGuire furniture. She had seen the desk listing and would have happily paid $500 for it, but to her chagrin she had just gotten a new desk.

Moral of this story: if you want to get rid of unique items of value, be patient. Start early and list often.  Otherwise, figure on giving it away.

2 Comments

Filed under Art & antiques, Downsizing, Envisioning a simpler life, Furniture, Selling stuff

2 responses to “The case of the McGuire furniture

  1. I hate it when that happens. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

  2. Do you think I’ll remember all my own lessons if and when I have to do this again?

    No, don’t answer.

Leave a Reply

